top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Rabe

What to expect on your wine tour?


Every tour I create is unique, designed with the clients needs first, so there is no rehearsed script or pressure to visit any specific winery. I want to show you what I love about the Cape winelands in a relaxed, friendly and safe environment.

Who will be my wine guide?

That’d be me, Kim Rabe, owner of Boutique Winery Tours and a registered cultural guide of the Western Cape since 2015. My specialty, however, being wine having previously worked in wine publishing and in wine sales for several vineyards and having completed numerous courses on the subject, I have visited nearly 200 vineyards in the Western Cape and have amassed a very broad knowledge of the various wineries and wine routes, which really helps me in being able to design bespoke tours for my clients.


Kim Rabe wine guide

How does transportation work on tour?

You will be picked up from your hotel on the morning of the tour at a pre-arranged time. I will be waiting in the lobby unless otherwise arranged. I can accommodate up to four guests but can also arrange transport for larger groups on request. Pick up’s and drop off’s are welcome to and from Cape Town, Franschhoek, Paarl or Stellenbosch; please feel free to enquire about other areas as I try to be as flexible as possible but within reason. Most wineries close at 5 pm, which is usually around the time we will head back to your hotel. I don’t do evening or after hours transporting but it is easy enough to catch an Uber back in the evening if you plan to stay in the winelands for dinner.

What will the tempo be like on my wine tour?

The beauty of a private tour is you get to set the tempo. There is nothing worse than being rushed from one winery to the next. I’d rather you relax and enjoy the experience at your own pace but If we’re going to be late for lunch I ‘ll give you a polite nudge!


food and wine pairings on tour

Will we learn something about South African wine?

I hope so. I’ll fill you in on the history of South African wine as we go along and chat about what’s happening in the industry up to date. Every tour I create is unique, designed with the clients needs first, so there is no rehearsed script or pressure to visit any specific winery. I want to show you what I love about the Cape winelands in a relaxed, friendly and safe environment. I love questions so please keep them coming and if there is anything you specifically want to see, do or learn about please try to let me know beforehand. Cellar and vineyard tours can be pre-arranged along with specific tasting requests.

What wineries will we visit?

The best of the boutiques tour of Franschhoek will take you to some very special non-commercial vineyards which not only produce great wines but offer a unique experience and are not widely known about. The Ultimate Stellenbosch tour, focuses on high quality red wine producing vineyards, though most of them also make white wines too. These will include a mixture of smaller boutique vineyards and some very iconic brand names. The bespoke wine tour is where we let our creativity flow in designing the ultimate tour based on your preferences, feel free to request specific vineyards or leave it up to me.


happy tasters on tour

What wines will we taste?

We generally chat about this via email beforehand; I like to get an idea of your tastes or expectations before designing the itinerary. Popular styles of wine and cultivars found at the Cape include: Methode Cap Classique (Sparkling), red Bordeaux and Rhone blends, Ports, Noble late harvest’s , Rose’ s and various dry white wines made from Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc and Chardonnay. Cabernet Sauvignon is the most planted red varietal, but you’ll also see plenty of Shiraz and our own Pinotage. That being said there are a plethora of other varietals also available, to name just a few Riesling, Viognier, Semillon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Malbec, Grenache and Pinot Noir. We are in an exciting time at the moment, with winemakers re-evaluating the best varietals suited to our various micro-climates and new varietals are being introduced all the time. Please give me as much information as possible about what you’d like to try and if you aren’t sure that’s fine too.

What will we eat on tour?

There are a variety of options available and we’ll discuss this beforehand when I’ll make recommendations based on your preferences. Have a look at this previous blog for more info:Dining-choices-on-your-wine-tour


delicious food platters

How does booking and payment work?

Please let me know via email the dates you’d like to book, we will then finalize your itinerary and confirm your booking. I will then send you the available payment options, regrettably I do not accept credit card.

Are the tour prices all inclusive?

Tours don’t include the cost of meals and will have to be settled yourself. The best of the boutiques and Ultimate Stellenbosch wine tours do include all your tasting fees but the bespoke wine tour does not. In this instance you would pay for what you taste directly to the wineries. The advantage of the bespoke tour is you get to choose what you want to taste and if you buy wine in most cases the tasting fee is waived.

Feel free to email me with any other queries regarding wine tours and visiting the Cape.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page